The name peridot is believed to come from the Arabic ‘faridat’for the word ‘gem’. Like emeralds, the first use of peridots can be traced back to Egypt circa 1500 BC, where they were mined on the Red Sea island of Zabargad; mining ended on the island around 1935. Used to make talismans, Egyptians referred to it as the ‘Gem of the Sun’ because of the belief it could protect its wearer from nightmares. Contrary to popular belief, the famous jewels donned by Cleopatra were not emeralds, but peridots. This mistake was also made for centuries regarding the Shrine of Three Kings in Cologone’s main cathedral. Romans called the stone the ‘emerald of the evening’ as peridots could shine quite brilliantly without natural light. During the Crusades, Crusaders amassed large amounts of the jewel that would later end up adorning many cathedrals. They can be found all around the world in China, Pakistan, Burma, and even Hawaii.